Daisies – Mari’s Story

Last night, we worked on the Orange Petal, “responsible for what I say and do.” It was a slightly awkward meeting.  I need to make my meeting outlines more detailed than I do already, I think.  Part of the problem for me was how do you go over responsibility? We did discus and vote on what jobs we should put on our kaper chart, and I did a not very good version of the paper crumple story. I found some ideas (those included) while searching the web, but I really didn’t find a lot of helpful ideas for the orange petal based off the old way of earning them. Well…I take that back a bit. Of course, I didn’t check all of the multiple documents/files I have saved. And one of them did have some good ideas in it. Of course, it’s too late now, though I might try to incorporate them into the next meeting at opening circle by doing a brief go-over of that petal.  (I’ll post the ideas below)

The new guide format is a story that you’re supposed to read and discuss then do several activities. The story is a bit hokey and contrived (why do these kinds of stories for kids have to be like this? Kids are smart. They get it. They don’t need to be talked down to). Maybe I’m just seeing this through the lens of an adult. I hadn’t planned on using it, but I should have still spent the time prepping for it as I ended up using it anyway.   The activities weren’t that bad. The girls are active and would probably have had fun acting out ways to be responsible. But of course, I didn’t have that written down on my outline and consequently, didn’t do it. Even with the silly story right in front of me. My mind was too overwhelmed thinking about how last week’s meeting was ever so much more exciting, and what must the parents think at such a drastic difference. My inexperience was showing. Hopefully they understand.

Orange Petal Ideas

  1. Field trip to radio/tv station or newspaper. (If I hadn’t already had the Tifft Nature Preserve field trip planned, I would have tried to do this. There are always other years, I guess.)
  2. Give girls a coloring page, have them color it. When they’re finished, have the girls crumple the picture into a ball. Smooth out the picture. Notice there are still wrinkles. Explain when you say something mean or bad that it always leaves a mark, though not every mark is visible. Even when you apologize the marks are still there. A girl scout is responsible to not say mean or hurtful things. Talk about what words are mean and what words are nice.
  3. Create troop rules.
  4. Create a kaper chart.
  5. Have the girls think about a chore they can do at home and one they can do at meetings.  Make a chart they can take home and check off on the at home chore for two weeks.
  6. Play a game of “Telephone” to show responsibility for your words.
Leave a Reply

