The End of School-Lite

I am going to have to end School-Lite with Bean and dive headlong into a full course load. I had planned on having a light year, just reading, writing, and phonics with a few other things thrown in here and there, but I don’t think that is enough for her. She’s bored. She’s acting out.  Most of her toys and all of her movies are in boxes down in the basement.  The smallest things will set her off on a screaming, throwing things tantrum.  From what it seems like from talking to other moms with girls the same age (both homeschooled and not), their girls are having similar tantrums. Maybe it’s an age thing. Maybe I need to institute set recess times throughout the day and go outside (but it’s cold!).

I’ve told her she has to earn her DVDs back. There is a good chart and a bad chart. If there are more stickers on the good chart vs black marks on the bad chart for the day, she gets one movie back. If she has more black marks, then she loses one movie she earned back. I have set things for what makes a good vs bad act/behavior. Hopefully it works. Several times today I’ve nipped whining in the bud by asking if she wanted a black mark. Man, being a parent can be hard!

School will officially change in January to allow me time to plan and get things together. I’ll add on history, science, art, math, Spanish, and logic. I gave DH the choice between US history or pre-history/evolution, and he chose the latter (yay for another homeschool blog whose ideas I will be lifting). Science will be either Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding or Developing Critical Thinking through Science Book 1 or both. Art will be a combo of Meet the Masters and The Usborne Art Treasury (thank you to another blog for this idea). Math will be RightStart A. We’ll probably start that sooner, actually. Spanish will be La Clase Divertida (ordered last week as I had planned on starting this anyway in Jan).  And logic we’ve already begun.

Yesterday after a MASSIVE meltdown, I pulled out Can You Find Me? PreK. I bought it a while ago, but never got around to starting it. I asked Bean if she wanted to do some “fun school” in between lessons; she said yes. We did the entire book yesterday. We also did 12 pages from Mathematical Reasoning Beginning 2. Again, it’s a pre-k level, but it’s here, she wanted to do it, and she didn’t whine. When DH got home that night I told him about it and he gave me the go ahead to buy more critical thinking/logic-type books. Here is the list of what I bought:




Today, we did some “fun school” as well.  Independent of all of this, I bought Lollipop Logic  last week. I broke it out and we did 20 lessons in it today. It’s been mostly easy, but the analogies are tripping Bean up a little bit. I bought the next two Lollipop books last night as well.

We’ll see how the rest of the week goes.

Leave a Reply

