Daisies – Lupe’s Story

Wow! What a fun meeting this was. I had a “this is soooooooooo coooooooooooooool” high afterwards.  I am truly lucky to have a good bunch of girls and parents who jump at the chance to help out.  We started the meeting doing a brief refresher of “Responsible for What I Say and Do.” Even though I flubbed it at the last meeting, the girls still got the concept, giving me some good examples. The best one however was one girl who said she was responsible for her parents. My response was, “what?! You pay your parents’ bills? That’s so cool!” Her mom got a kick out of that response, and the girl laughed as well once she got it. I turned it and asked if her parents were responsible for her. It’s always good to start the meeting off with some humor.

The “Honest and Fair” petal was scheduled for that night. There were plenty of suggestions on how to teach the concepts, most of them similar, giving the girls items to divide fairly amongst themselves. I thought it would be best to stick with Lupe’s Story for this one. I worked with my step-mom to modify it so it wouldn’t be so flat. I ended up not doing it exactly the way I had planned since getting that night’s activity took longer than expected, and I didn’t get a chance to review it quickly before the meeting started. But, it was a success nonetheless.

Flower Friends Puppets

I made puppets from the poster of the Flower Friends (FF) included in the Welcome to the Flower Garden Journey. I cut them out, laminated them between two sheets of contact paper, and taped them to wooden dowels. Nothing fancy, but enough to help get the point across. I brought out the five flowers used in Lupe’s story so they could help me tell it. The story starts with the friends each wanting to play a different game – here I wiggled each flower as I said the game they wanted to play (what I should have done was pretend to be the flowers, using a different voice for each one, and had them say what game they wanted to play – I could have also made up hand motions to go with each game and had the girls copy them). Then I asked the girls what games they liked to play. Back to the story, the FFs couldn’t decide what game to play first since they all wanted to play their game.  I asked the girls what they thought – what would they do? The “right” answer was hit upon for them to take turns, but how to you figure out who goes first, etc…? The best suggestion was to play eenie, meenie, meinie, mo, so we all said it together for fun. The FFs each took turns, and life was good. (This ends the “fair” section of the story).

The second section, covering being honest, started with a package being delivered by bird (I fluttered my fingers down, and had the girls copy me, banging my hands on the carpet to show that it landed).  The story says the package contains cheese, but really, it could be whatever you want from whomever you want, which makes a great tie in for whatever activity you plan on doing after the story. For our purposes, the box was from our troop (the girls had glazed looks on their faces when I said the box was from us, I said our troop number, and it went over their heads), and it had gingerbread men cookies in it. Lupe was hungry, would anyone notice if she ate just one, or two cookies? How about three, four, five, or more? No one would notice. I asked the girls if she should eat any cookies, and they answered no.  But no one would notice! No!, they said. We had a brief discussion about being honest, and I segued back to the story by saying Lupe decided it wouldn’t be right, etc…and took the cookies to share with her FFs. The End.

This led into me telling the girls they were going to get to make gingerbread men cookies for our town’s Christmas Party (held yesterday), and because it wouldn’t be fair to ask them to make, but not decorate, that I had made another batch just for them. We split the girls into two groups (I used the “1, 2” counting method – and there’s “fair” again!). Half of them went upstairs to the kitchen with around 4-5 moms, and the other half stayed downstairs with the remaining moms (three plus me) to decorate their own cookies. After around 15 minutes we switched. Both moms and girls seemed to have a lot of fun. It was one of those evenings where organized chaos ruled. It’s a night like that that makes me glad I became a troop leader.

In closing, we had snack, sang “Happy Birthday” to the two girls who celebrated birthdays recently, and did our closing circle. Adding to the fun, I told the girls we were going to be pen pals with a Daisy troop in Ohio – not too far away, but a different state. I printed out a page for each parent with basic instructions and pen pal pairings. They’re supposed to bring their letter/picture/photo of themselves to the next meeting. I’ll mail it to the other troop, and hopefully we’ll have a package to open at our first January meeting. It will also help them earn their “Be a Sister to Every Girl Scout” petal. They’ll finish that up in February.

Our next meeting is Investiture/Rededication. I need to figure out how to do this. I had it planned perfectly with 12 girls, but then we went up to 15. I need something simple so it doesn’t matter if a few don’t show. I would have loved to have the 10 new Daisies each deal with a line of the GS Law, but maybe next year, or with my second daughter’s troop (once she’s old enough).

Light Blue Petal Ideas

  1. Have an egg hunt. Each girl is to find 5 eggs. Girls who finish first help girls who are still looking.
  2. Play a game with the girls and purposely cheat to see what they do. Brainstorm ways to handle the situation.
  3. At snack-time, pass out an unequal number of snacks, giving some girls too much and some girls none.  Have the girls figure out how to solve the problem.
  4. Give the girls a pile of trinkets (like something from Oriental Trading Company), and have them divide them evenly amongst themselves.
  5. Play a truth/lie game.  Put a happy face and a sad face on the wall. The leader says something, like “the sky is green”, and the girls run to the right face – happy if it’s a truthful statement, the sad face if it’s a lie. Give each girl a chance to be the caller.
Leave a Reply

