Daisy Meeting: Gerri’s Story/Magenta Petal & Safety Award

Last week’s Daisy meeting was great! The girls were rambunctious as always, but they were much better behaved than at the Investiture.  The meeting was somewhat special as we had a firefighter (a Daisy dad) come talk to the girls about his job. He also helped them work on some of the requirements for their Safety Award.

The meeting started off with our Opening Circle. I introduced the girls to The Triangle – an instrument I found in Bean’s toy box. I need something to get their attention when they’re being rowdy, and The Triangle should be loud enough to do the trick. I know I need to teach them the Girl Scout Quiet Sign (holding your hand up like you want to ask a question), but you can’t hear a hand raising up in the air and these girls need an auditory cue. I rang The Triangle, and told the girls that if they heard it, it meant they were being too loud or too silly, and needed to sit down and be quiet. I tied it into both Respect Authority (the petal of the night) and Responsible For What I Say and Do.

From the authority standpoint, I asked them who were people in authority. No one answered. I asked who in this room is a person of authority. No one answered. So I asked if their mom was someone who has authority (several were standing in the room). This received some “yeses”. I asked if their Girl Scout leader was someone who has authority. Ditto the “yeses”.  So if a person in authority asks you to do something, say like, being quiet, you should listen to them because that is respecting authority.

To tie in responsibility, I told them that listening to authority and/or being quiet when the The Tringle rings is being responsible for what they do. I did a better job explaining it to them than I’m writing here.  I should have done this the night of the meeting instead of several days after. Anywho…

Since we were working on the Respect Authority petal, I wanted to tie Gerri’s Story into the firefighter. Unfortunately, that meant I had to scrap the story in the Guide since it focused on the school principal. What I did instead was to use the puppet Gerri to tell a story. We did a “luckily, sadly” story akin to when my step-mom was here. I started out by saying Gerri was excited to go to a school assembly where a firefighter would be talking. I then passed the puppet to the Daisy next to me, and she added to the story. And so on and so forth, with each girl passing the puppet to the next as they finished their sentence. We ended up with a firefighter who forgot his jacket, the fire hydrant started to gush water, but luckily the firefighter was able to get a cupcake coat, and everything ended happily. It was a somewhat disjointed story. But the girls had fun.

This segued into moving to another downstairs room to do the actual firefighter portion. The room is kind of a gross motor skills room for the preschool, so it was bigger than our meeting room, but not a cavern like the fellowship hall. I stacked and covered as many of the toys as I could before the meeting, and thankfully, none of the girls messed with anything.  The firefighter talked about his job and went over stop, drop, and roll, and what to do if your friend is choking (I had stepped out to help some of the moms get the craft set up). When I came back in, the girls were trying on coats, helmets, and gas masks. A good time was had by all, even if some of them did get a bit worked up.

Since there was still time to kill, I had the girls line up behind me to practice stop, drop, and roll. (Thank you gross motor room for having gymnastics mat!) Everyone had a turn, and then lined right back up again. There were several girls who didn’t want to do it – I managed to cajole two of them into it, but the third wanted nothing to do with it. I pointed out to her that she would do it one way or the other, and if she didn’t do it now, she would need to do it after the meeting (which is what she opted for). I was going to have the girls go through it one more time, but one of the moms pointed out “crawling low to the ground” on the handy swag ruler the firefighter handed out.  So, I had the girls crawl across the mat. As they finished, two of the moms corralled them down the hall into our craft/snack room to start working on their craft.

Craft-time was relevant to the Safety Award. I bought 4×6 inch index cards so the girls could decorate one side, and then write (with help, if needed) their address and phone number on the other. At each meeting from here on out, I’ll take them aside and have them recite their info to me. Once they can do that (as well as demonstrate stop, drop, and roll, and what to do if a friend is choking), they will get their pin.  I’m sure it will take some girls longer than others.

The rest of the meeting was uneventful – snack-time and closing circle. I gave parents the girls’ pen pal letters and a “do you have / are you a / do you know a…” list. We’ll be starting the Welcome to the Flower Garden Journey in March, and it would be nice if some of the things could be donated instead of bought with troop funds.

Next up: our field trip to the local Coast Guard station. This should be fun!

Magenta Petal Ideas

  1. Visit a police station, fire station, or military base.
  2. Have someone in a position of authority (firefighter, principal , etc…) talk to the girls about their job and how it is important to the community.
  3. Review troop rules.
  4. Play “Simon Says” with hats. Some are hats of authority (firefigherhelmet, police hat, nurse/doctor hat), and other silly hats (clown, bunny ears, witch).  Only the girls wearing authority hats followed directions.
    1. Another version would be to have Simon wear the authority hat. The girls only do what Simon says if Simon is wearing an authority hat.
One response to “Daisy Meeting: Gerri’s Story/Magenta Petal & Safety Award

  1. This is timely. On jan 4 a 6th grade Santa Barbara girl saved her family from an apartment fire. She had only just learned the stop, drop, and roll routine when firefighters visited her classroom. Now, she is a hero, all because of what she learned and remembered.

    http://www.keyt.com/news/local/6th-Grader-Saves-Family-136707508.html

    love, mom

Leave a Reply

