Meet The Masters: Van Gogh

Over the past few weeks, we’ve been picking at the Vincent Van Gogh lesson from Meet the Masters (old version). We watched the presentation on one day, then read some books about Van Gogh another day, and finally did the art project that went with the MTM presentation. I would have liked to do the Van Gogh art project from the Usborne Art Treasury, but since it took three weeks from start to finish, I would like to move on to the next artist. Plus I don’t want to mess with mixing glue and paint. Maybe some other time.

The presentation was fairly straight forward. I powerpointed through a slideshow on the MTM website while reading a printout that explained each painting. After the presentation, they have an automated slideshow of Van Gogh’s paintings set to the song, “Vincent.” I don’t know if they updated it on the new version of MTM, but it would have been better if we’d watched in on youtube.

Three weeks from when we watched the presentation, we finally (finally) did the art project. This was fun. Bean was over the dotted lines by the end (as evidenced by her picture), but I liked it.  She did like taking the papers off of the oil pastels and breaking them in half.

And seeing how both of us like Doctor Who, we watched “Vincent and the Doctor” from Series 5, an episode that Bean has not seen. I thought the Krafayis would scare her, but at the end of the episode she rolled her eyes at me and said it wasn’t scary at all. She also didn’t get why I cried at the end when the Doctor and Amy take Vincent to the Museé d’Orsay. I cry every time I watch that episode.

The books we read:

Other books I found after we finished (and one not yet published):

Leave a Reply

