Weekly Recap 11/25/12

Math – This week was better than last week. We at least did some math. I skipped pretty much all of Lesson 64. I was not in the mood for dealing with geoboards. I also skipped Lesson 65 for similar reasons – this lesson dealt with diagonals, and it was too involved for me to want to put forth the effort of doing it. We did the fist part of Lesson 66 (skipping the geoboard section), and we did all of Lesson 67.

As well as Bean does with RS, I am starting to get a bit burnt out of how involved it is on my part. I think it would be less of an issue if I didn’t have to deal with the two littles. And while my mother’s helper is coming, that time (recently) has been dedicated to cleaning or Girl Scout cookies.

Reading – I upped Bean’s reading time from 15 minutes to 18 minutes this week. She doesn’t seem to notice that she’s reading for a few minutes longer, which means she’s ready for it. I would like to have her up to 30 minutes by the time she starts second grade next fall.

Rainbow Magic: A Fairy Ballet
Fine Feathered Friends

Current Read Alouds – Thanksgiving on Thursday, Hello, Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle!

OPTGR – Lessons 210-213 completed.

ETC – Bean ended up finishing ETC6. We completed Lesson 14 on Thursday, and when I said there was only one lesson left, she wanted to do it too. We did all but the last two pages before Thanksgiving dinner, and the remaining two at our cookie booth the following day. We’ll backtrack and start ETC4 in January. It will be nice to take a little bit of a break from it.

FLL – Lessons 45 and 46. I forgot to include that we started learning “The Months” poem last week. However, instead of using the version in FLL, we’re using the one used in RS B, Lesson 40 (since that is the one Bean mostly knows).

WWE – Lesson 11 covered excerpts from Trumpet of the Swan.

History – We took a break from Ancients this week to focus on Thanksgiving. We didn’t do any crafts, but we did read a lot of books.

ScienceLesson 11: Birds, Eagles, Owls, and Parrots.

Spanish – Another week of only doing one lesson.

Leave a Reply

