SOTW1: Ch 16 & 17

Because we didn’t read/watch anything extra, it only took us one day to do Chapter 16: The Return of Assyria. We read the pages in SOTW1 and in UILE, but skipped the recommended reading. I didn’t want to read the book about Jonah, and the one about Sinbad the Sailor was out of place historically by about 900 years.

This week, we read Chapter 17: Babylon Takes Over Again, and we read some of the book selections (yay!). I don’t know if the two stories set in Persia work with this chapter, but they were neat stories. I wish I had been able to get my hands on either King Nimrod’s Tower or The King in the Garden, but both are out of print, neither are owned by my library system, and I didn’t want to pay $20+ per book.

I had wanted to do a craft out of Ancient Egyptians and their Neighbors, but I couldn’t figure out where I had put the supplies. I’m sure they’re in a “safe place”, but I’ll be darned if I know where that is.

Videos
Seven Wonders of the Ancient World (only the section on the Hanging Gardens of Babylon)
The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World: A Journey Back in Time (again, we only watched the section pertinent to the SOTW chapter)

Books

7 wonders0001 forty fortunes persian carpetTB_Mesopotamia_LIBcvr.indd

Leave a Reply

