GS Camping Training

At the very last minute, I was able to join the last session for Levels I & II training for camping offered by our Council. It is my fault for not doing this sooner, but I had been hoping to set something up for several leaders/moms in my SU (this ended up falling through). One of my moms is Level I trained, but because we’re taking the Brownies tent-camping in July, someone needed to do Level II.

Three weeks ago, I had the first session of the training (about 2 hours long). We spent most of it discussing what to bring to camp (the group as a whole and as individuals) and planning our meals (menu, ingredients, and any tools necessary to get the job done).

There were 12 leaders in the group, and we were broken down into groups of four to plan three meals. My group ended up with dinner. We chose hamburgers and hotdogs (all meats must be pre-cooked/par-cooked, nothing raw is allowed), potato salad, macaroni salad, and foil packet-cooked zucchini. We also planned dessert (the s’more cones my troop did last June).

Last weekend was the overnight portion of the training. It wasn’t quite what I was expecting, but then, I don’t really know what I was expecting. All of the women there had camped before, so it almost felt like a refresher with a few new tidbits thrown in. We spent a lot of the time talking – which was great because now I have some fun ideas for troop games and fundraisers.

The bulk of the trip focused on knots, lashing, basic pocket knife safety, making fire starters, building campfires, intro to compass reading, and the technicalities of camping with a large group of girls. We also had to share some of the fun stuff that was successful with our girls (from my troop, I shared how we taught them how to jump rope, and that the game, Daisy Islands, was a hit). This sharing time  is where I picked up new games, or new variations of games we’ve tried before.

Games (I only have the names of some of them, so some internet searching will be involved)
*Another version of the hula hoop game we played with Quest. With this one, you have several different sized hoop going around the circle, and you step through it to pass it from one person to another (everyone is holding hands and the hoops are on your arms).
*Birdie on a Perch
*Ships and Sailors
*The Human Knot

Meals
Lunch (in the lodge, so a stove was available) – grilled cheese sandwiches, tomato soup, chips, fruit (apples, oranges, pears, bananas), and soda/tea.
Dinner (campfire) – hot dogs, hamburgers, macaroni salad, potato salad, foil-packet zucchini, and dessert s’more cones
Breakfast (campfire) – french toast, sausage, orange juice, fruit (see above), and coffee.

Leave a Reply

