The Little Girl Who Whined Wolf

I wish there was a cure a la Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle for whining. When will this stage end? When will Bean (who is almost 7) stop whining over every. little. thing?

“Moooooooooom! Bug looked at me cross-eyed!”
Ignore her.

“Moooooooooom! The moniker-less little boy touched my straw!”
Then don’t leave your drink unattended.

“Moooooooooom! I chopped my arm off!”
Suck it up…oh…wait…this is legitimate…

See the lack of sympathy for something that really needs sympathy? There hasn’t been anything quite that dramatic in her life, but it’s hard to muster a response other than annoyance when she whines constantly. Then I feel like a horrible mother for not initially caring. Once I realize what’s happened, the gears shift, but for every 50 someone-is-getting-my-goat-because-it-produces-great-reactions, there’s maybe 1 whine that’s truly an I’m-hurt-and-need-to-be-comforted.

Can I have some wine with my whine? Or is it too early to start drinking?

Leave a Reply

