Girl Scout Updates

I didn’t post anything for our meeting on November 7th because we went indoor rock climbing instead of having a meeting. The girls once again had a blast. I’m planning on doing it again in the spring.

Troop Stuff
In light of making things a bit less stressful, and because we now have two new Daisy troops in our SU, all of my Daisies have moved to a different troop. I will miss the girls, but at the same time, it will be a lot easier planning only for Brownies. The girls will have a better experience too since they will be in a Daisy troop instead of tacked on to a Brownie troop. This change puts me at eight girls, with two more possibly joining at our next meeting.

Journey Stuff
I also have been doing some training on Journeys. I did a seminar on them at a Council event for leaders, and I’ve gone to a couple of other SU’s on my own to do it as well. Trying to implement Journeys can be confusing and since National now sees them as the core of GS (badges being supplementary only), it’s important that leaders know how to do them without completely demoralizing and losing their troop.  When I have some down time, I plan on making a post about what I’ve been teaching.

2 responses to “Girl Scout Updates

  1. I can’t wait to hear what you’ve learned about Journeys. I’m a couple of meetings away from starting Quest.

Leave a Reply

