July Books

romancing duke dareoutsiderspennyroyal academypart time indianinexcusablefirst part lastsimply perfectmaggot moon

Of the eight novels I read in July, five were for my YA lit course. I’ll my thoughts about them once the course is over.
1. The Outsiders
2. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
3. Inexcusable
4. The First Part Last
5. Maggot Moon

*Romancing the Duke – I was the second person in line (by dumb luck) in Vegas for Tessa Dare’s book signing.  She is the author who made me realize that maybe romance novels aren’t so awful after all. My eyes glaze over the romance novel body part vernacular phrases, but non-romance novels can get kind of squidgy that kind of stuff too. The book itself wasn’t that bad. I thought Any Duchess Will Do was better, though.
*Pennyroyal Academy – An ARC I picked up at ALA destined for my library’s collection. It hasn’t been added yet because well…there are a lot of books to add, and I don’t have a lot of time do add them at the moment. The book is a nice twist on what “princesses” are. It has the makings of a good adventure series. The writing is a bit shaky, but the what and why of the book made it easy for me to overlook that.
*Simply Perfect – Another romance book, but this time I read it because of a Book Riot post. Very light on the steamy and pretty much no romance novel body part vernacular. I liked the story, and will read more of them. It’s a nice fluff book.

salem hyde 1salem hyde 2chi 1great amer dust bowlprinceless

The GNs I read this month were for various classes, though I would have ended up reading all of them eventually anyway. Salem Hyde, Chi’s Sweet Home, and Princeless were for a continuing education course, and The Great American Dust Bowl for the YA lit course I’m taking for my degree.

*The Misadventures of Salem Hyde – Salem is a spunky and things don’t quite turn out the way she wants them to with entertaining results. I bought this for Bean (who loves it), but I liked it too (Moby Dick references and pre-spelling bee training montage).
*Princeless – The story itself is great. Princess Adrienne is strong, independent, and starts her adventures by rescuing herself from a dragon-guarded tower. The publisher lists it as All Ages, but I think it’s more suitable for 10+. Adrienne is harassed by villagers while wearing a Wonder Woman-esque costume, and I don’t think that is appropriate for a 5 or 6 year old.

rose

The lone book on this list for Bean this month  is Rose. Expect this area of my monthly book posts to be empty for a while. We started reading HP4, so who knows how long it will take us to get through 700+ pages.

*Rose – Sort of HPish in that the main character is also an orphan clueless to the fact she’s a wizard. Rose, however, lives in an orphanage and then becomes an undermaid for an alchemist. There is a plot, but it takes until around 40 pages into the book to figure out what it is – children are disappearing from the streets of London. The book was alright. The writing was alright.

 

Leave a Reply

